top of page

A review of 'Ferrari' from a motorsport fan

Updated: Jan 9

Originally posted on Middle of The Grid website


Having watched Michael Mann’s latest movie Ferrari, I have a few things to say about it (as a motorsport fan!)


Whilst Enzo Ferrari is undeniably one of the most significant people in motorsports history, do I really care about his private life? I went into this movie aware of the fact that the film centers around Enzo, however, I was unaware of the fact that his private life drama would take up almost the entirety of the movie! Racing scenes were massively lacking, despite the referral to Ferrari being a racing company.

Also, as the creator of Scuderia Ferrari, there could have been more about Enzo’s instinctive passion for racing,  ‘The fact is I don’t drive just to get from A to B. I enjoy feeling the car’s reactions, becoming part of it’.


What would have been better in my eyes would have been more of the aftermath of the 1957 Mille Miglia tragedy, and showing the recovery of Ferrari from near economic failure to becoming the motorsport giants that they are today, with a legacy of 16 Constructors’ Championships in their 73 years of racing in Formula 1, and being the only team to compete in every F1 championship! 


Overall rating 6/10. I enjoyed it but as a motorsport fan wanted more out of the racing element that consumed Enzo Ferrari’s life, and I wanted to see what made Enzo design Scudiera Ferrari as a racing team at heart.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page