top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • X
  • Youtube
  • TikTok

FMP Editing and Post-production

Updated: Jun 3

I started off by uploading all of the footage I got from Donnington, interviews and my piece-to-cameras I have filmed so far:

I then edited each clip down to what was useful and started the process of arranging it, to see what I still need to film and start creating an order:

I also grouped clips together to make in sections so they were easier to move around:

This is the first outline of structure I have in editing:

For the Chloe Grant Interview the size is too small so I will have to resize that clip to make it fill the frame. I researched how to do it on Google. I used this YouTube video to understand how to do it https://youtu.be/fBUQuDa8PEA?si=gQUucL1J-bdhLJ4n.


How to change the size of a video:

This footage was recorded on Zoom, and when you watch it back it fills the screen, but when it is put onto Adobe it doesn't fill the screen, so it needs to be fixed:


1) Select the clip you want to re-size (it must be alone, if it is grouped, un-group, so you don't resize a clip that doesn't need to be)

2) Choose 'Effect Controls' in the top left panel

You will be presented with a panel looking like this in the top left

3) To change the size, you pick 'Scale'. Double click the box with the number, it will be selected and you can delete it, replacing it with the desired number.

I changed the number to '300' and that made the clip fill the screen.

I did this for both the Chloe Grant and Kareena interview.


I also added pictures as b-roll. To do this simply drag and drop from your files onto the sequence and put over the clip you want. You can change the duration by making it shorter or longer like you would with any clip. You can also resize images by double-clicking them and then dragging them to make them bigger.

For music I chose 'Race to the top'. I downloaded this and then imported it from my folder using the media browser in the bottom left corner but you can also drag and drop it. I downloaded it as an MP3 and that works on Adobe Premier Pro.

I started acting a range of effects to make it more professional. For the quote after the end of the intro music I used the Film dissolve effect:

This effect is found on the right side under 'video transitions' and 'dissolve'. This made the transition look slick and looks less static, and more like something you would see in a professional video.


The next thing I tried to do was create a Lower Third to introduce each character.

I researched how to create a lower third in Adobe Premiere Pro and found out that you open the 'Essential Graphics' panel and type in 'Lower third', then browse the templates, picking the one you want, drag and drop onto the sequence and then you can customise it.

Here I picked a template and dragged it onto the sequence. Then I could change the duration and change the text, aswell as changing the positioning:

I also change the decibel level of the footage to make sure it's not too loud. I decreased the decibel level of the music to -15db to make sure it matches the volume of the footage.

I made a lot of cuts and so to smooth them out and make it look more natural I researched how to do this. I found this YouTube video which guided me:

However in the end, I used the 'fade to black' effect instead. I used this effect between clips and changed the duration on the top left panel, depending on the clip. If it was a change of speaker or topic then the effect duration was 00.00.00.25 if it was just between sentences then it was 00.00.00.10 and if it was in the middle of a sentence it was 00.00.00.05.

This made the footage smoother.

I made a trailer for the documentary on ClipChamp and exported it in (TikTok and Instagram)


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

1. What exactly did this brief ask you to produce? The brief asked me to produce a journalistic project, with the option to explore...

Comments


bottom of page