top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • X
  • Youtube
  • TikTok

FMP Technical Skills

Updated: Jun 7

Chloe Grant Interview:

I conducted the interview with Chloe Grant over Zoom. I recorded the meeting and directed the file into my OneDrive. It was a short interview and I didn't use a mic, just the one on my headphones. The quality isn't bad, but could have been improved with a mic, so next time I will use one. The interviewee also didn't use a mic, just the built-in mic of her phone.


Teleprompting:

I started off by looking for apps that could do teleprompting whilst I record my piece to camera.

The first app was easy to use but the screen where the teleprompter is isn't transparent so it part of the screen and it would be more useful to have it be transparent when filming.


The second app called PrompterPal is also easy to use and records on the app, with the transparent text covering the whole screen which may be an issue, but you have to pay premium to use the teleprompter out of app, so I will have this app as a back-up option but it wouldn't be my first one.


The third app was also easy to use and records in the app, it gave a quick tutorial about the settings for the teleprompter. However it had a technical glitch when I tried to record and I had to exit the app and start it again but it did it again, even though after a while it worked fine, this could be a problem when filming, so I won't use this app.


The fourth app records in-app aswell and has a transparent teleprompter. It is easy to use and adjust the settings, scripts are limited to 750 characters and you have to upgrade to have longer which costs, however, overlay is possible, and I may be able to do one paragraph at a time and 750 characters may be manageable.


Filming:

I used the app Open Camera for better quality filming. This app is closer to a DSLR camera in terms of setup, and it gives you more control over the settings than the built-in camera on a phone does. I have used this app before so I knew how it worked. I filmed interviews, my piece-to-camera and b-roll footage at the track all using this app. The only thing I would change next time is using the app to its full capability, and learning how to adjust the settings to make it the highest quality possible. I could have done more research beforehand to optimise my filming.


I also used a tripod to stabalise my filming. When I started filming at Donnington I just held my phone, but when I filmed my piece-to-cameras and the footage from F4 on track, I used my tripod, either hand-held or extended.


I conducted and recorded two interviews on Zoom. I had used this software to conduct and record interviews before so I was confident with it. I knew how it worked and directed the recorded footage to a specific place where I could easily locate it and then edit it.




Audio:

I used a wired lavlier microphone that I bought off of Amazon to film interviews at the track and the piece-to-cameras. I had used this before to film explainer videos for my TikTok, and knew that it was quite good--quality and would focus on the voice of the person speaking and mitigate any background sound. It also had a long wire so it could be clipped on the interviewee and they could stand at a distance that is good for filming, so its not too close. The mic is plugged into my phone like wired earphones would be. To improve audio quality next time it would be better if I could use the Rode mics available at college, or invest in a higher quality lavlier mic.


The audio is also recorded on zoom and comes in a separate file, which you can combine with the clip in editing for better quality. I did this for the Chloe Grant interview but forgot to do the same with the Kareena interview, and had already edited clips down, so combining the audio would be hard to do now.


Editing:

I initially began editing in Adobe Premier Pro but to allow me to edit at home aswell I exported the footage I had, onto ClipChamp aswell which is a free editing software.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

1. What exactly did this brief ask you to produce? The brief asked me to produce a journalistic project, with the option to explore...

Comments


bottom of page