top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • X
  • Youtube
  • TikTok

FMP Diary

Updated: Jun 7

12/03/2024-17/03/2024:

12/03-

Today we had the brief delivered, and went through the ways in which we should work on the project and how it will be assessed and marked. We then started looking at how ideas themselves are developed, as the process of a the FMP, final major project, starts with idea development as without an idea, you can't do anything. Each table discussed where ideas come from, and then one person was chosen to present their thoughts about where ideas come from; I discussed that ideas can come from experiences and things you interact with, like film and tv, and social media, and are subconscious. Ideas can also come from dreams, which I have experience of, and ideas are often influenced by the people and events going on around you. Another person mentioned that ideas are often based on our passions and interests. We then talked a bit more about idea development and how we are in the early stages.

Then we brainstormed ideas, making a first start of an idea, and considered subject, medium, audience, angle, scope, inspo and why? we want to do this idea. I decided that I will do a documentary as that is something I want to do in the future and have to develop my filmmaking skills, so I will challenge myself through this.


13/03-

I started developing a presentation ready for my FMP pitch next week. Then we learnt about some of the new equipment the college has which we can use for filming, the Rode 'Go II' wireless mics, and the DJI Osmo 6 a tripod that stabilises and moves, controlled by your phone.


14/03-

We started playing around with ai as it is important to adapt to the new technology, so we will be able to work with it, instead of being replaced by it. We have to use ai as a tool not a replacement for doing work.

Primary sources for the project:

Someone who experienced it: Abbi Pulling, Chloe Chong, any other F1 Academy driver or female driver in British F4.

Someone who has professional/expert overview: F1 Academy, Females in Motorsport

I started researching media accreditation and whether I would be able to get it. After some research and signing up to the MSV site, I found out there is an age limit of 18 for media accreditation, therefore I'm going to try and find ways round this. One option I have is contacting some people who will be taking part in the event media wise and asking if I could work with them and shadow them or another option is reaching out to teams and drivers to interview at the track, finding some copyright free footage for b-roll or asking people for the rights to use their footage,. I'm going to do some more research about being able to film at the track, because I may still be able to film some track action on my phone without needing a media pass. I can reach out to F1 Academy drivers for interviews for the documentary. I can also contact Donning ton through inquiries. I'm also going to research using clips from YouTube and social media to see if I can use them and give credit.

I'm also starting to plan what I want the documentary to feature, like certain b-roll clips and locations for Piece to camera.


16/03-

I started off by adding to my blog post about my initial response to the brief. I then created my first documentary treatment with an initial idea of how it could look, without any research. I then began looking for quotes from some female drivers in F1 that I could use to inspire me and help with the vision of my documentary. I made a short list of 3 questions I want to be answered by the documentary (Why aren't there any female drivers in F1? Is Enough being done to help women progress? What needs to happen to see a woman in F1 again?), these are my initial questions which are subject to change after more research and throughout production. I then started making a list of people I wanted to contact for interviews, making a google sheet where I can put contact info and track the process.


17/03-

I researched the reasons why there aren't women driving in F1, adding to my secondary research blog post and making the foundations of my documentary by understanding the challenges that female drivers face.


18/03/2024-24/03/2024:

18/03-

I started contacting potential interviewees for my documentary. I contacted F1 Academy, More Than Equal, Females in Motorsport and 5 drivers through email and website contact forms. I will wait for responses and contact more drivers tomorrow, as well as finding some other people to interview in the coming weeks.


19/03-

Started learning about how and why we pitch. I developed my pitch adding more pictures and creating slides on Google Slides, also creating a first script. I applied for a NUJ student membership online.


20/03-

I developed my pitch presentation even more ready for the actual pitch tomorrow, and considered possible questions that could be asked and what I actually need to say through the presentation so I have everything considered. I watched the Beyond Driven documentary for inspiration, and embedded the trailer to my FMP Pitch presentation. I switched out text for pictures, searching icons to use to visualise the concept.


21/03-

I pitched in front of the class and got some feedback. I got told my pitch was good and it was clear that I had put a lot of effort into it. I got some questions about access and what would happen if I didn't get the interviewees I wanted and I explained that I could broaden the idea out to wider female racers or even further to F4 and the challenges of some drivers, particularly financially. I also got asked about whether or not I would be on camera, and got told to make a decision about that as it would help shape my plan. I have thought about it and decided that I am going to be on camera, with piece to camera explaining certain things and could make it personal by talking about my experience. From then I can start planning what I would talk about, like the history of females racing in F1 and the feeder series and then start gathering archive footage relevant to that, as well as creating graphics and start recording these piece to cameras and get that out of the way during the Easter Holidays.

I also listened to other people's pitches and from that learned areas where I can improve on the plan of my project such as having a direct goal and clear questions I want to answer in my final piece.

My 3 aspirations for Easter:

  1. At a minimum have secured an interview, best case have secured a few and have filmed 1

  2. Have a secure filming plan, with locations, different shots I want to get, different questions I want to have answered

  3. Got some good primary research from social media


23/03-

I emailed more people on my contact list and emailed some of the previous people I had emailed again with additional information, such as my website link and mentioned Middle of the Grid so I could show that I have some experience and I have the passion to do this.

I got a reply from Sophia Floersch when I emailed her, saying she was too busy due to a hectic racing schedule but she admired my commitment and wished me well for the project.


25/03/2024-31/03/2024:

27/03-

I researched more female drivers, finding some in different Formula 4 series, Formula Regional aswell as Indy Nxt. The more people I have to contact the more likely I am to get interviews. These drivers may be easier to contact as they are less known, but I'm still going to persevere and try and get some of the drivers from F1 Academy to interview. I then added to my Primary Research blog piece about the people I have contacted so far.


28/03-

I emailed a few more people and then did some secondary research about the history of women in F1. I added to the primary research blog with evidence of the people I have contacted. I also added more possible contacts to my spreadsheet, so I have more options for interviews. I thought more about what I would need from interviews for the documentary, to make it answer the questions I am trying to answer.


29/03-

I did some more research about F1 Academy adding to my secondary research.


01/04/2024-07/04/2024:

01/04-

I started direct messaging some drivers, using Instagram instead of E-mail, in hopes that they would be more likely to respond. I also sent a few more emails to certain drivers who had their email address available on their Instagram.


02/04-

I direct messaged more people on Instagram and started planning a script for the PTCs of the documentary, so I can start finding archive footage for it. After no responses and some no's it can be a little discouraging, but I started thinking about other options and plans bs, to take the project in a different direction if it doesn't work out and I don't get an interview. Once I get an interview I can say my idea is secure and that I can pursue it, but until then I will keep my options open and start considering different ideas.


06/04-

I got a response from 2023 F1 Academy GB4 driver Chloe Grant to say she is happy to do it. I have arranged the interview at 3pm on Monday 8th April. I started preparing for the interview by doing my research and making questions. My idea is now secure, I don't need to consider any other options, but I need to make sure I do everything so the documentary is the best it can be.


07/04-

I did some more prep for the interview tomorrow, making more questions and deciding what I need from the interview in order to help my documentary.


08/04/2024-14/04/2024:

08/04-

I conducted a quick interview with Chloe Grant and got a response from the management of Jess Edgar that she couldn't do it due to being busy, but wished me well on the project and was open to future media work.


9/04-

Received a response from Tina Hausmann that she couldn't do it due to a busy schedule but wished me well and gave me some good feedback that they were delighted about the offer and think that the documentary will be interesting.


10/04-

Wrote the 2nd version of the documentary treatment and made a list of which footage I need.


15/04/2024-21/04/2024:

15/04-

I did a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analysis. I also then did some research and tried to find some article writers about either of the 5 female f1 drivers, to have as possible experts for the documentary. I had a 1-to-1 where I got feedback about my progress on the FMP and there were no concerns.


16/04-

Learnt about contacts and sources for our FMP. I then began developing scripts for my PTCs (piece to camera). I researched Maria Teresa de Filippis, Lella Lombardi and Desire Wilson as part of my PTC about the history of female drivers in F1. I then researched the W series, F1 Academy and F1 teams development programs. I than wrote abit about the issues of the W series and F1 Academy, but what F1 Academy is doing better, and what the future may hold, aswell as addressing Max Verstappen's comments about F1 Academy and the cars not being fast enough. I then started planning for potential vox pops at Donnington.


17/04-

I started making some graphics I could use in the documentary to explain certain topics in a visual way. I first made an infographic about the road to F1. I then watched some archive footage on Youtube and made notes of some timestamps for clips that I could use for the documentary. I added more to my PTC script, about the percentage of female participants in motorsport.


18/04-

I added to my secondary research blog first about the film Beyond Driven I watched for inspiration for my documentary. I then watched a Youtube video by Financial Times about F1 Academy and made notes as part of my secondary research. From that video I realised certain points I have to investigate and cover in the documentary, such as the issue of a lack of track time for female racing drivers, but maybe not the financial as that is a general issue that every racing driver faces especially if they are not from a wealthy background, and the documentary is going address the unique challenges female racers face, however I will address the fact that F1 Academy financially aids female drivers. From my research I found some key details I need to research more in depth and address in the documentary:

  • the physiology of women in motorsport

  • social media and marketing's affect on female racing driver's and is it the key to see women enter F1

  • issue with accessibility

  • issue with not having enough girls in karting

  • the culture of motorsports, doubt and discrimination

I then read through some articles about More Than Equal and some female racing drivers.

I had a 1-to-1 where I learnt about Miranda Seymour and her book The Bugatti Queen about Helene Delangle/Helle Nice.


22/04/2024-28/04/2024:

22/04-

I added some more contacts to my contact list, such as Girls on Track and Discover Your Driver, both initiatives to get more girls into racing.


23/04-

I wrote out my PTC Script in more detail and a more chronological order. I finished the PTC Script.


24/04-

I found a report about female fans of motorsports and tried to use it as research to understand the effect of female fans.


25/04-

I started writing my piece to camera in a script format to make it easier and I also made it more concise and compact because too much talking would bore viewers and interviewees can explain some other things. I also downloaded and tested some apps that do teleprompting whilst filming on a phone. I then started researching participatory culture in fans to help me with my piece to camera as I want to encourage fans to get involved in the sport they love in the documentary, adding the information I learnt and conclusions I got from the source to my secondary research. I also researched the affect of social media on the career's of racing drivers, how it helps them, also adding this to my secondary research.

I feel really clear on my whole idea. At the start of this project I knew what I wanted to do but not exactly what things to narrow it down to, the scope was a bit too big, but I'm getting closer to being 100% clear about everything, there are still aspects I need to research and understand to have the full picture for my conclusion, but once I've done more filming and more interviews I believe I will be easily able to come to a conclusion and teach people a message, and hopefully make a small difference.

I've made a list of tasks I need to do, so I don't forget anything. This weekend is going to be busy but hopefully I will get the majority of my filming done so they I can focus on editing and post-production, and I can start promoting to increase the reach of the documentary. I will aim over the weekend to get some interviews done at track, piece to cameras done, and found some more archive footage. I will also hopefully get some content for my social media, for a behind-the-scenes.

I have also thought about how I can promote the documentary once it is done. First I want to create a poster, I need to decide on a name and then I can create a poster using Canva and use that on social media to promote it. Then in the editing process I can create a short trailer, for more promotion and to create some excitement. I could maybe also look for other places to promote other than my social media, such as other content creators and podcasts.

I also emailed Females in motorsport on a different email, and direct messaged British F4 on Instagram, with hopes of interviewing some of the drivers at the track.


26/04-

I researched how to use the rode microphones and found out I need a usb-c usb-c cable to connect the reciever to my phone, so will buy one. However, I did update the reciever on my laptop using Rode Central.


27/04-

I bought the USB-C to USB-C cable, and tried to use it with the Rode reciever. I was able to connect it and I went onto my phone settings to try and change the settings for the USB, however it wouldn't let me change its usage to data transfer, so I couldn't recieve any audio.

I packed the kit for Donnington, packing a tripod that has many uses, a wired lavlier microphone I had bought off Amazon aswell as two wireless mics with a reciever. It was a problem that I couldn't get the Rode mics to work however it was good that I already had my own equipment at home that was cheaper and less quality, but I knew how to use, so I could take that instead.


28/04-

I got to Donnington with no set plan on who to interview or what to film. It was very rainy when we got there at around 9am, and it made it almost impossible to film and there was nothing happening on-track. At around 12am the rain had stopped, the track was safe to race on and we had moved from the in-field viewing to the main straight grandstand, however the race schedule was changed with all series, except the headliner BTCC which had all of its 3 races, only having one race, instead of two. The first race was BTCC so I watched that and filmed a bit of content for the documentary as I will include a little vlog in it. I then watched the Mini Challenge where there is one female driver, Hannah Chapman, so I filmed a bit of that. I walked around the paddock a few times to try and find drivers to interview, I wasn't able to find any F4 drivers, but I was able to interview Hannah Chapman aswell as Abbie Eaton, from the Porsche Carrera Cup, and I used my wired lavlier mic to film these interviews, and it mitigated the loud noises around the paddock. I got some footage from the F4 race, using my tripod, which I could hold compacted in my hand and made it more stable. I started off filming F4 as close up as possible, but then moved higher up the hill to a better viewing spot to film some other angles but due to massive crowds and distance, the footage was zoomed in and not the clearest but I will have to see if it is usable. I got more footage then needed so I will have enough when editing. I also filmed a small piece to camera about my day at Donnington, I went away from the crowd, we were standing near the Hollywood Grandstand, the whole area was very busy as it is a great viewing point. I used the lavlier mic for my PTC, and whilst there were cars on track, with the mic, you can hear me clearly and interrupted. I positioned myself when filming with the track at the back of shot so it was a nice view. I need to film a debrief from my day at Donnington, and I will make the whole thing its own section in the documentary. I filmed everything on my phone, using an app called Open Camera, which has settings of a DLSR camera and you have more control over the settings than the built-in-camera. I wanted to have the best quality footage despite not being able to use a camera. I lastly posted a picture I took at Donnington to Instagram, hinting that I had done some filming for an exciting project and that people should stay tuned.

What I would change next time is being more prepared and having a plan, aswell as contacting people before going to see if I can pre-arrange interviews. I would also make sure I know how a piece of equipment works and what it requires before I book it out at college, as if I knew I may have been able to ask for the cable that works with my phone and then would have been able to use the mics at the track for even better sound quality.


29/04/2024-5/05/2024:

30/04-

I filmed some piece-to-cameras using the open camera app and my tripod. I set it up near my desk where it wasn't too busy, there was motorsport pictures, and I clipped my lavlier mic on.

I still have the intro ptc to film, the conclusion/call to action and maybe another interview of an expert.


31/04-

I did some wix tasks updating anything that needed to be updated, and I also filmed some of the piece-to-cameras needed.


1/05-

I put all the footage I have so far onto adobe, and started editing down clips, and seeing where there are gaps that need to be filled and what footage I still need to get. I then direct messaged some more experts, Nicki Shields F1 Academy Commentator, More Than Equal, and Toni Cowan-Brown. I want to interview someone who has a media role in F1 and the feeder series but I do have backup options of content creators, some that are very popular on tiktok or some that I am friends with.


2/05-

I started creating some promotional material for my documentary, as I am still waiting for some responses, but I also need to contact some more people so I can get an interview. I plan to film the intro to the documentary this weekend and will film the conclusion and call to action once I have done the expert interview. Then I will focus on editing, promoting and finishing off any coursework.

I started trying to make a poster and pick a name for the documentary so I can actually promote it.

For name ideas I first looked for synonyms and words meaning progression, also thinking about the idea of 'road to F1' but it seems a bit long. I could then have an extended title through use of a colon and add more description. I also had the idea of 'Il Sogno', italian for 'the dream'. This would apply as the first female F1 driver was italian and so was Lella Lombardi the most successful. In French, 'the dream' is 'le rêve'. French would apply as Grand Prix racing is French. 'Dreamers' in Italian is 'sognatrici'.

I have decided to go with 'Road to F1' for now and if I am inspired by something else it may change later.

I then thought about how I could create the poster. I had downloaded a royalty free image of an empty race track, as I thought that had some symbolism, as female racing drivers tend to be overlooked and often don't have crowds to watch them, but in recent years that has changed. This year F1 Academy is alongside F1 so they have F1 crowds but last year they didn't have much attention.

I secured an interview with a Tiktok content creator Kareena. I watch her content alot and its really informative, and she has made content about F1 Academy and More Than Equal, so she will be perfect to explain it more as an expert interviewee for the documentary. The interview is scheduled for Sunday at 12pm and I prepared some questions, sending them to her as requested so she can prepare.


05/05-

I conducted the interview. It was very informative and will be so useful for the documentary. It also made me think about the real purpose of F1 Academy and I will write another piece-to-camera about how F1 Academy is equity not equality as female racing drivers don't have equal opportunities. I will film the intro, the piece-to-camera about equity and the outro and call to action tomorrow, which will mark the end of production as I begin post-production, carrying on with editing and beginning promotion. I also messaged Kareena after the interview to thank her and ask for support for the documentary, as I will let her know about it once it has been released. What I still need to do is film the last bits of footage, find archive footage for b-roll and make a promotion plan.


6/05/2024-12/05/2024:

06/05-

I filmed some more piece-to-cameras, I looked on social media to see some hate comments about F1 Academy so I could see what people say about it and respond to it in the documentary. I thought I should do this because Kareena mentioned that it should be made clear the reason of F1 Academy's existence and I aim to do that in the documentary. Also due to a new development for F1 Academy over the weekend that they will have a Netflix show in 2025, I need to address this in the documentary also because Kareena mentioned this in the interview.


07/05-

I went on YouTube and Google to find some more footage to use as B-roll. I will screen record it and caption it with who's footage it is.


08/05-

I uploaded the footage I had got over the weekend and edited it. My main focus now is just editing, I may still need to film some more piece-to-cameras so I will determine what I need once I have roughly edited. The duration of the edit is currently 21 minutes, so I really need to cut some clips down, but I have figured out that I need to clearly answer the two questions of 'when will we see a woman on the F1 grid once again?' and 'is enough being done?'. I need to make sure that these are clearly answered through PTCs and interview clips. I will decide what other footage I need to get and continue trying to edit down the footage.


09/05-

I have three main targets for today, keep this diary up-to-date, add more detail to my editing/technical reflection and edit down all the footage as much as I can. I have figured out that I still need to record the outro where I will answer the questions I gave in the intro and make a call to action. I went on Canva to find documentary intro templates and researched some royalty free music for the documentary. I found the song 'Race to the top' on Royalty free music library https://royaltyfreemusiclibrary.com/tracks?tracks=axis1212-5, and downloaded it in MP3 format. I will have an opening montage of clips from female racing drivers and then it will go intro the piece-to-camera. The music is very inspiring and the name says it all. I will use this and then credit it when posting. I also thought about a name for the documentary. The music inspired my thought process about names, some ideas being:

Race to the top

Race to F1

Drive to progress

Making it

Dare to drive

Made to race


In the end I have decided on Dare to Driver. I think this will be a fitting title for the documentary and I could expand it into a series of documentaries in the future about racing drivers who overcome barriers and difficulties of all kinds, and inspiring figures in motorsport history.


I want to add some photos for b-roll so I learnt how to do it, through this video https://youtu.be/u9-oqbui4MI?feature=shared. So I downloaded the Susie Wolff quote I had put on Canva, as a PNG which I researched to find that Adobe Premier Pro supports.

The image that I put in Adobe Premier Pro were blurry, so I looked for some images that would be clear and I replaced them. I made a list of each photo I use in order, with a link to where I got it from, so I can credit it.


I thought about what footage is useful and which is not. The duration of the all footage so far is over 20 minutes and I don't want to bore viewers by it being too long. I deleted the Hannah Chapman interview from the edit as it doesn't really work with the context, as she hasn't been involved in the feeder series.


13/05/2024-19/05/2024:

14/05-

I scripted the last piece-to-cameras I need to film, a conclusion and call to action. I will film them this week.


I used this article to answer the question, 'When will we see a woman in F1?':

I also used my knowledge from my secondary research aswell as interviews of what needs to happen to see a woman in F1 in 10 years.

I also referred to this article for more information about the report from More Than Equal:


To answer the second question 'Is enough being done?', I stated that it is a matter of opinion. We don't have foresight into the future so we don't fully know if all of the initiatives are gonna make a lasting impact, but I referred to Max Verstappen's comments about F1 Academy and Tiktok's that I watched to learn more about his comments and why they may not be helpful:

These are videos from some top motorsport content creators, and there are different opinions in there about the statement, but also differing opinions based on whether someone has the full context of what was said or not.


Over the weekend Abbi Pulling made history by becoming the first female winner in British F4 and Jamie Chadwick also made history, becoming the first woman in a decade to finish on the Indy NXT podium.

I will try to include these achievements aswell as the F1 Academy Netflix show in 2025, in the documentary in some way, because I want to show that women are succeeding and the work being done to help them is so useful.

I might name some drivers to follow and support as a call to action.


From being on social media, the subject I am doing the documentary is still extremely relevant, many people are talking about it and there have been achievements for female racing drivers recently so I picked the right subject as once it comes out it will still be relevant and will add to the conversation already happening on social media.


15/05-

I edited the footage some more. I deleted the b-roll footage I got from Donnington as I haven't found a way to use it in the edit, but I may use it for promotion, like creating a Donnington vlog for social media. I mainly focused on finding photos to show what interviewees are talking about, using it as b-roll. I keep a list which I add the link and a copy of the photo I used, to refer back to if I need to add credits for the photos I used in the edit. I also made lists of what graphics I need to make and what footage I need to get from social media (YouTube and Instagram), so I know what I still need to add. Some clips can also be shortened.


16/05-

I researched the different editing softwares I can use at home, that are free, ClipChamp and Adobe Express are the main ones, but I can also use CapCut. Some softwares have limits of how long footage you edit can be, for example on Canva it is only 10 minutes and that wouldn't work as my video is 17 minutes long. There is also limits on storage, like on Capcut, and if you exceed the free storage limit you can't edit anymore, and with Clipchamp my video is not saved to the cloud. I will have to use alternatives at home as I don't have access to Adobe Premier Pro, so I can edit text and other basic editing techniques using free, easier to use software and then at college, improve the quality of the video using the different effects available on Adobe.


20/05/2024-26/05/2024:

20/05-

I started making graphics to use as b-roll for my documentary to visually explain things. I used the list I had made on Wednesday whilst I edited, so I know what graphics I need aswell as footage that I need to get off social media sites like YouTube and Instagram.


21/05-

I edited some more, mainly rearranging clips to an order that makes sense. I moved interview clips from Kareena that I had previously had at the end of the footage to the More Than Equal segment and F1 Academy segment. Now I still need to shorten some clips in the middle but I can start adding some text to introduce the characters of the documentary. I started adding effects to the edit aswell as text. I researched how to do a Lower Third in Adobe to introduce the characters in the documentary.


22/05-

I added text to introduce the characters of the documentary. I used Lower third graphics to do this. I also researched how to make cuts of clips smoother, and you can use the the 'morph cut' effect. When I tried to use it, it got stuck 'analysing the background' and ten I tried to remove it and Premiere pro stopped responding. I need to know how to effectively apply the 'morph cut' effect. It is good that I save it as much as possible, after each slight change I make, so that I don't lose changes and waste time re-doing them if I have to Premiere Pro. I played around with the 'morph cut' effect, testing different durations and if it is effective enough to smooth the footage. I then tried the 'dip to black' effect and compared which is better. At this point I have exported 6 different versions of the documentary. I export it after each big edit to make sure I have a version in case there are problems with Adobe Premiere Pro and so I can edit at home if needed. I'm happy with my progress so far. I will edit some more tomorrow and then export it once more and send it in as a draft to my tutor so I can receive feedback on it and use that to help me improve for the final version as I am not sure on what more changes I need to make when I edit. The duration is just over 16 minutes.


23/05-

I have two issues today. First is that the footage I screen recorded yesterday for the montage is not in my onedrive. So I screen recorded the footage again, this time using ClipChamp and then edited that footage down to a short montage, and then exported in hd, then putting it into Adobe Premiere Pro. The second issue is that the music I used for the intro doesn't fit with the montage, so I will try and find another piece of music to use.

I ended up using music from ClipChamp. The music is called 'virgo rising' and I edited it to make it have a rising and falling moment to show what has happened, what is happening now and what the future is.


27/05/2023-02/06/2023:

28/05-

I started making a poster again for the documentary as I want something to promote it. I am going with the title 'Dare to Drive; A woman's race'. I am going to try and set up a photo to use as a background for the poster. I edited a quick trailer and exported it for Youtube (16:9) and Tiktok (9:16) use. It is a quick 20 second trailer and can be used to promote.


29/05-

I have decided that I will post the documentary to YouTube on Wednesday June 5th, as it gives me time to make any last edits at college and be fully prepared and then on the last two days I can make sure all of the wix tasks are complete. I will post the trailer to Tiktok, Instagram and Youtube today and then make a post on Canva to announce the release date. I edited the short trailer using ClipChamp and posted the trailer to Tiktok and Instagram.


03/06/2024-9/06/2024:

03/06-

I made some more edits, I cut out the end, so now the documentary ends with a part of the Kareena interview and I also cut down some of Chloe Grant's interview. I started writing the evaluation.


04/06-

I made some more edits in Adobe Premiere Pro and researched how to do Auto subtitles in ClipChamp https://clipchamp.com/en/subtitle-generator/ and Adobe Premiere Pro https://riverside.fm/blog/how-to-add-captions-and-subtitles-in-premiere-pro and I am going to try both.

I also researched how to blur the background in Adobe Premiere Pro as there are a lot of people in the background of the Abbie Eaton interview.

https://filmora.wondershare.com/video-editing/blur-background-premiere-pro.html#:~:text=In%20the%20Effects%20Panel%2C%20type,Controls%E2%80%9D%20to%20open%20its%20panel. I tried it n ClipChamp and although it said captions were on, they weren't visible on the video. I tried auto captions on Adobe and it was better, but there were a few mistakes which I tried to edit but changes were not made to the transcript so I chose not to use them and I will use the auto caption function on Youtube. I also tried out blurring the background, and followed the instructions from the article that I found, however it did not unblur the subject so in the future I need to research this effect further, but I decided the background wasn't too distracting in the Abbie Eaton interview, but in the future I would like to learn how to use this effect.


05/06-

ITS RELEASE DAY!!!

Today I am posting the documentary to YouTube. I had one last watch of the documentary to see if there were any last edits I needed to make. I planned the description for the video using the example of another YouTube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gja74ev4AA to make it a professional description. To add chapters I learnt that you need to put timestamps in the description so I looked at videos that had timestamps and did the same to create chapters that are easy to follow. I also needed a thumbnail so I took a screenshot of the title from the video. I then scheduled the release for 6pm and made it a premiere on YouTube.


06/06-

I asked people on social media to watch the documentary, people in Middle of The grid, sent it to my interviewee Kareena. I finished off my evaluation and started seeing what gaps I need to fill in and finish my Wix tasks. I edited some small clips for promotion on social media as I need to increase the reach of the documentary. I got a short segment of the documentary and then added the title to the end as well as text that says 'out now' to make videos that are engaging and appealing.


07/06-

DEADLINE DAY!!! I just have to make sure that all my work is complete and and as good as possible and the project is finished.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

1. What exactly did this brief ask you to produce? The brief asked me to produce a journalistic project, with the option to explore...

תגובות


bottom of page